Guides: GUMC Alumni Resource Guide: eBooks

Welcome to eBooks

Below, please find information on eBook collections as well as subject specific eBooks. If you are looking for eBooks more specific to your branch of medicine, please find the specific tabs underneath eBooks. You will find Physician focused eBooks within Physicians and Nursing focused eBooks within Nurses.

eBook Collections

Medical Student - Medical Textbooks
A digital library of useful links. Though the title says 'medical textbooks', not all of these resources are actually textbooks, many are general websites.
MSF Reference Books
A small reference shelf provided by Doctors without Borders.
The National Academies Press
The NAP has over 4,000 e-books, of which about 600 can be downloaded free by users.

On the NAP home page, click on ‘Health and Medicine’. A list of books will come up, but these are only a few selected titles. To browse the rest, click on a sub-topic to the left. There are currently 16 books on global health, 44 on women’s health, etc.

Some books are available as PDF downloads, others can only be read online.
National Library of Medicine Bookshelf
Bookshelf provides free access to books and documents in life science and healthcare. A vital node in the data-rich resource network at NCBI, Bookshelf enables users to easily browse, retrieve, and read content, and spurs discovery of related information.

Currently including almost 900 titles, NLM Bookshelf provides access to a changing list of applicable titles. Click 'Browse' to examine a sortable collection.
WHO (World Health Organization) Catalog
WHO's online catalog includes a variety of ebooks, available to anyone who is willing to search! Limit to location: online and then enter your search terms to browse.

Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
Search for open access eBook titles that are legally available and peer reviewed.
Large Collection.
2012-Present.
Updated as needed.
FreeBooks4Doctors This link opens in a new window
Directory of open access books.
Medium Collection.
1999-Present.
Updated as needed.

Subject Specific eBooks

Patient Safety and Quality: An Evidence-Based Handbook for Nurses.
(through NCBI Bookshelf)
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews: Plain Language Summaries
(through Cochrane)
Research Training in the Biomedical, Behavioral, and Clinical Research Sciences
(through NCBI Bookshelf)
Disease Control Priorities in Developing Countries, 2nd edition
(through NCBI Bookshelf)
Nurse Staffing and Quality of Patient Care
(through NCBI Bookshelf)
Health Literacy Interventions and Outcomes: An Updated Systematic Review
(through NCBI Bookshelf)
Cancer Control Opportunities in Low- and Middle-Income Countries
(through NCBI Bookshelf)
AHRQ Evidence Report Summaries
(through NCBI Bookshelf)
Infection Control Prevention of Healthcare-associated Infections in Primary and Community Care
(through NCBI Bookshelf)

The Graduate Health & Life Sciences Research Library at Georgetown University Medical Center

GUMC Alumni Resource Guide

Welcome to eBooks

eBook Collections

Subject Specific eBooks