Guides: Health Systems Administration Resource Guide: References & Bibliographies

Help with RefWorks?

Need help learning to manage your citations and create bibliographies according to a specific citation style?

Take a look at these options, and remember - since we've already purchased RefWorks institutionally, it's free to all Georgetown affiliates!

If you want help learning the details of this useful tool, contact DML Reference.

RefWorks 101: Manage Citations & Create Bibliographies
Learn how to capture, manage, and work with citations using RefWorks, an online bibliographic management tool. This workshop covers the basic features of using RefWorks, including exporting and importing records electronically from journal databases, organizing records, searching and sorting records, and preparing bibliographies instantaneously. Hands-on practice included.
*Workshop size: limited to 10 participants

Zotero
A free, easy-to-use desktop application and Web browser extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources.
EndNote
EndNote is a software-based citation management system with an online component. Though not directly supported by Georgetown University, many researchers consider this tool. It can be purchased with a small discount through UIS's software store.

Though you may have been comfortable using APA 5th edition, a new 6th edition now exists, so it's a good time to refresh your knowledge!

What's new in the 6th edition?
APA provides a quick overview of the chapter by chapter changes to the publication manual.
APA style guide to electronic references
This ebook details the APA method of citing electronic resources.
APA Tutorial: What's new in the 6th edition?
Corresponding with the list provided above, APA put together a short tutorial detailing changes.
Corrections to the First Printing
As you may have heard, the first printing of APA6 had numerous errors. APA has since corrected the problems in the second and third printings, but they are also providing a listing of corrections for those who purchased the first printing.
APA Style Blog
A weekly discussion of various style topics by APA experts.
Supplemental Materials for APA Style Guide Owners
Due to space considerations, the APA style guide contains some citations to materials available online.
Frequently Asked Questions: APA

GU Libraries' MLA Guide
The examples provided in this guide are meant to introduce you to the basics of citing sources using the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (seventh edition).
APA Formatting & Style Guide
A useful guide created by The Writing Lab and The OWL at Purdue University.
Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide
Chicago provides a quick overview (with examples) of common citations.
Research & Documentation Online
Offers an extensive annotated list of specialized sources for more than 30 disciplines. The resources are organized by type—databases and indexes, Web resources, and reference books—under four main categories: Humanities, Social Sciences, History, and Sciences.
AMA Style Guide - Quick reference
The University of Washington provides a quick reference guide to AMA Style.

Email Me

Contact:

Dahlgren Memorial Library
3900 Reservoir Rd, NW
Washington, DC 20057
202.687.1448

Subjects: Evidence-Based Medicine, Health Sciences Research