Finding Full Text Journal Articles

If there is a subject area you wish to research, use one of the many DML databases (ex. PubMed MEDLINE, CINAHL, Ovid MEDLINE) to obtain a list of citations. It is important to access PubMed MEDLINE using the links found on Dahlgren Memorial Library website. The PubMed MEDLINE link is unique to DML and has an embedded tool, called a link resolver, to connect you to the full text of articles or other article delivery options. The link resolver can be identified by a blue Check for Full Text @ DML icon. Although many databases have the full text available immediately by clicking on the PDF or HTML Full Text link, you may need to use the Check for Full Text @ DML icon to pursue further options for obtaining the article.

This is an example citation from the DML version of PubMed MEDLINE.  Once you find a citation for an article, look to the right hand corner to see your full text options. Select the Check for Full Text@ DML icon to access the article  - this will open a DML Link resolver window.  There may be two of the Check for Full Text @ DML buttons – you can select either one.

You may also see a publisher icon such as this one. These icons are provided to PubMed MEDLINE by publishers.  Some lead to the full text of an article and some do not. For that reason, your best option is to use the blue Check for Full Text @ DML button, which brings you to the DML link resolver and your full text options. 

Once you have clicked on the Check for Full text @ DML button, you’ll be taken to a page similar to the one below. This page will lead you to options for obtaining the full text article. The first area to pay attention to is READ THE FULL TEXT.  If you see this section, click on the link(s) listed to be taken to the full text online. If you see more than one option listed you can select any of them. 

If you see "Dahlgren Memorial Library does not subscribe to this resource", as you see with the example below, you should use DML's Document Delivery service.