Guides: Nursing: Graduate / Advanced Practice: Databases

Nursing Databases

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL® (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) provides indexing for 2,938 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health with more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1981. The premier nursing database.
Large Collection.
1981- present.
Updated yearly.
JBI EBP Database This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database covering a wide range of medical, nursing, and health science specialties and includes a unique suite of information analyzed, appraised, and prepared by reviewers at Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI). This Database includes full text recommended EBP, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, and much more.
Large collection.
Updated weekly.
2005-Present
Nursing and Allied Health Collection: Comprehensive This link opens in a new window
With full text for nearly 400 journals indexed in CINAHL, NAHCC is an excellent compliment to nursing research. Its coverage also includes:, biomedicine, health sciences, consumer health, and allied health disciplines.
Medium Collection.
1975-Present.
Updated monthly

Embase This link opens in a new window
Biomedical research and pharmacology citations and abstracts. Added functionality available with personal account.
Large collection.
1947-Present.
Updated daily
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides integrated access to over 8,000 key research journals. There are two main ways to search the database: 1) select General Search to search for articles by subject term, author name, journal title, or author affiliation or; 2) select Cited Reference Search to search for articles that cite an author or article that you specify.
Large Collection
1970-Present
Updated Daily
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
International psychiatry and mental health articles, reports, books and dissertations. Added functionality available with personal account.
Large Collection.
1806-Present.
Updated Weekly
ERIC via Ovid This link opens in a new window
Search for educational articles, books, conference proceedings and other content. Added functionality available with personal account.
Large Collection.
1965 - Present.
Updated monthly
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary search tool specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Added functionality available with personal account.
Large Collection.
Updated Daily.
2004-Present