Guides: Nursing: Graduate / Advanced Practice: Point of Care Tools

Point-of-Care Tools

Point-of-Care tools are resources that are meant to be used just as the name implies...at the Point-of-Care.

The resources below will help you in your current practice while you work on completing your Advanced Practice Nursing program, as well as with your course work for your given program. The two sections include the broader EBP tools and the more specific Drug Tools.

Point of Care - Evidence-Based Practice

ClinicalKey for Nursing This link opens in a new window
Nursing journal articles, procedures, practice guidelines and eBooks. Added functionality available with personal account. Good for background and foreground questions.
Large collection.
2016-Present.
Updated daily.
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based point of care resource with diagnostic tools, calculators, patient education and ICD codes. Includes shared decision making tools. This resource is powered by artificial intelligence. Added functionality available with personal account. Good for background and foreground questions.
Large collection.
1995-Present.
Updated hourly.
Isabel This link opens in a new window
Clinical diagnostic decision support system including differential diagnosis. This resource is powered by artificial intelligence. Good for foreground questions.
Large Collection.
2010-Present.
Updated Frequently.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Journals, Books, Practice Guidelines, Patient Education, Drugs, Multimedia, CME and more.
Large collection.
2007-present.
Updated monthly.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window
Resource providing access to a collection of protocols and systematic reviews. Added functionality available with personal account. Good for foreground questions.
Large collection.
2005-present.
Updated weekly
DXplain This link opens in a new window
Clinical diagnostic decision support system including differential diagnosis. This resource is powered by artificial intelligence. Good for foreground questions.
Medium collection.
1987-Present.
Updated monthly.
Essential Evidence Plus & AHFS DI Essentials This link opens in a new window
Concise, evidence-based information from a variety of sources. Available on PDA through DML's subscription.
Large Collection.
Updated Monthly
2009-Present

Point-of-Care - Drug Information

Epocrates Plus App This link opens in a new window
Pharmacological collection containing pill identification, drug interactions, guidelines, ICD-10 codes, and calculators. The Epocrates Plus app is provided gratis by Epocrates only to those GUMC faculty and students involved in medical and nursing clinical education. This gratis access is limited to one year of use per user. Personal account using an @georgetown.edu or @gunet.georgetown.edu email account required. Good for background and foreground questions.
Medium Collection.
1995-Present.
Updated weekly.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive pharmacological collection. Search by drug or disease; find information for CAM, toxicology, and drug interactions. This resource is powered by artificial intelligence. Good for background and foreground questions. Added functionality available with personal account. Only authorized users who are competent healthcare professionals who rely on their clinical discretion and judgment in diagnosis and treatment may use the content for medical diagnosis or treatment purposes.
Large Collection.
Updated Daily
NatMed Pro This link opens in a new window
Natural Standard was founded by clinicians and researchers to provide high quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. This international multidisciplinary collaboration now includes contributors from more than 100 eminent academic institutions.
Large Collection.
1985-Present
Updated Frequently

A to Z Drug Facts
Embase Drug Search
Search for drug information within published drug and biochemical research literature, through the Embase interface.

DML Quick Links

Journal Finder This link opens in a new window
Large Collection.
Updated daily.
1800s-Present
DML Catalog This link opens in a new window
Large collection.
Updated daily.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Large Collection.
1981- present.
Updated yearly.
PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
Large Collection.
Updated daily.
1996-Present

The Graduate Health & Life Sciences Research Library at Georgetown University Medical Center

Nursing: Graduate / Advanced Practice

Point-of-Care Tools

Point of Care - Evidence-Based Practice

Point-of-Care - Drug Information

DML Quick Links