Skip to main content

Dahlgren Memorial Library

RefWorks Guide

This guide will provide you with a more in-depth look at the New RefWorks bibliographic management tool.

RCM Google Doc Add-On Issues

UPDATE: May 29, 2020- UIS has allowed the ability to add applications from the G-Suite Marketplace, including ProQuest RefWorks. 

 

Due to security concerns, UIS has temporarily restricted the ability to add applications into Georgetown Google Docs  accounts - this includes the Refworks add-on. UIS, Refworks and DML are actively working to resolve the issue. 

RefWorks Citation Manager (RCM) Google Doc Add-on

For those users who prefer creating research projects on Google Docs, an in-text option available is Add-On for RefWorks Citation Manager. This can also be helpful for those who have an earlier Microsoft suite.

In order to get the Add-On to your Google Docs, follow the steps below:

Go to the More Icon across the top and select Tools from the drop-down menu. 

Scroll Down to Cite in Google Docs and on the right select Get the Add-on.

How to get the Google Docs Add-on

Follow the directions provided by RefWorks in order to add the add-on to your Google Docs. Be aware you will need to sign into your Google account. 

Once you have installed the Add-On for RefWorks, go to the Add-On section within the dropdown you should see ProQuest RefWorks. Scroll to the right arrow next to ProQuest and select Manage Citations.

Manage your citations

You will be asked to sign in with your RefWorks account. Once logged in, the tool will pop up on the right of your document. Notice that your default settings will be All References

After logging in, your default will be all references

Using the Add-On for In Text Citations

In order to begin the process of inserting in-text citations, select the folder from the drop down next to All Reference in order to choose the folder that will suit your needs. Then, you will want to check the default format and potentially change it. In order to change the format, go to the gear icon and select Change Citation Style.

Change citation style by selecting the gear

You will be redirected to where you can see the current style and search for the style you would rather use if necessary. For this example, the citation style is APA format. Once you have selected your needed style, select Update.

Select needed style and select update

Now you can go to your paper and select where you wish to add your citation. Then, on the right highlight the citation you wish to use and select Cite This. The citation will then populate on the paper. Notice as well that as you cite, your bibliography will auto-populate:

Execute change citation style to see change in format

Editing In-text Citations and Bibliographies within Google Add-On

If you decide to remove or edit an in-text citation you will want to make sure that those changes are reflected in your bibliography as well. For Example, the second citation has been removed but the bibliography has not automatically updated. 

A bibliography that is not updated

In order to ensure that the Bibliography updates, go to to the gear icon on the right of the selected folder. From the dropdown menu select Update Document. For this example, notice how the bibliography now only contains one citation. 

Select and execute Update Document